Home > Coding > I might tape this to my door

I might tape this to my door

2009/07/27

One reason programmers dislike meetings so much is that they’re on a different type of schedule from other people. Meetings cost them more.

[…]

For someone on the maker’s schedule, having a meeting is like throwing an exception. It doesn’t merely cause you to switch from one task to another; it changes the mode in which you work.
via Paul Graham

Now I have the words to describe to my coworkers why having meetings at 10, 1 and 3 pretty much means I’ll get very little done. Get everything booted up, remember where you were yesterday, check the time, gather up everything you need for the meeting. Meet. Return to office, rehash what happened and what we need to do. Go to lunch (or far more likely, eat lunch at desk while trying to find a solution to bug or design question). Check the time, gather everything up for the next meeting. Meet. Return to office, check email, gather everything up for next meeting. Meet. Return to office, check email, shut everything down. Go home.

Of course, what that means is that the next day I’ll have to remember what I was doing and why not the day before but two days before. You’ll note also that there was really no mention of coding in there. Which isn’t entirely true since little bits of coding occur throughout the day, but not the kind of focused detail work that most projects require.

Categories: Coding Tags: ,
