Home > environment, Science > Oh, the guilt

Oh, the guilt

2009/07/11

Here I got all excited about this citizen science, crowdsourcing opportunity, the Firefly Watch. I’ve signed up, printed out the handy ‘what to report’ guidelines, and, well, not gone outside to look for fireflies. Which does not make me a bad person, not at all. Except maybe if you stop to consider that I am tasked with developing a website to collect and visualize impacts of a particular type of natural disaster. Impacts collected from your average netizen who signs up and returns to make reports. Whoops. I’ll have to ponder for a bit why I haven’t gone back to talk about fireflies for something that I think is pretty cool and how to try to overcome that for a site that is for something more of a downer. Tomorrow, I promise, I will go count fireflies and submit my tallies. Pinky swear.

Categories: environment, Science
