Home > environment > 70% of world oceans day

70% of world oceans day

2009/06/08

Sorry I couldn’t give it 100% today. We actually had a discussion about how to explain to someone that spellchecking was not a nice bonus for the project, it was pretty much a requirement. I kept thinking about that one episode of Futurama where Farnsworth goes to the Near-Death Star and at the end, when trying to revive the professor, Bender shouts “Young people use curse words!” Which doesn’t sound relevant but the point is I was feeling rather a bit like saying something about how, in the good old days, we cared about our work to such a great extent that we didn’t ignore the annoying little squiggly red lines. I’m just not sure that I’m eligible to make those kinds of statements at 30-something. And instead of ending the day on a happy note, I ran across the trailer for The End of the Line (here), a film about overfishing. So anyway, instead of some eco-rant or another depressing statistic, I’ll post these instead:

Green Sea Turtles from Tahiti

Green Sea Turtles from Tahiti

penguin on an iceberg

penguin on an iceberg

So happy world oceans day.

