Home > Science > As demanded by the hench-lady-men-partners

As demanded by the hench-lady-men-partners

2009/04/04

Hench-lady-men-partners, if you don’t know, are henchfolk of varying genders. Wordlustitude is freakin’ brilliant. My other current favorites:

  • baked in stupidity sauce
  • blah-blah-ologist
  • super-fantastic-nerdcore-tacular
  • non-banjo-istic 
  • cylonitudiness
  • genocidal much-better-now-thankiacs
  • goofulating
  • beer-tastrophe
  • dweebularity

I seem to have a thing for long hyphenated words. Who knew? Definitely knew about the battlestar bit though. Now why can’t class names be this entertaining? StreamReader is so obvious. So go there and be entertained. 

Which then leads us to snowclones. Not Dolly or some random Star Wars extra, but a kind of phrase template from the world of linguistics. My current snowclone theme: X is the Y of Z where X is the thing to compare to Y, Y is some famous person and Z is not. A good example is “February is the Joss Whedon of months.” When I figure out what this blog is, I’ll let you know. Or you could let me know, but be nice, children.

You may be asking, where is the GIS? All I can say is that I will get back to it when the evil overlords let me get back to it (I have been conscripted into more of the basic web work). Until then, I will leave you with some hand-drawn cartography. Can you guess where I went? I’m not actually sure I can.

Map 1

Map 1

Map 2

Map 2

Map 3

Map 3

