Home > Science > Can we really legislate car colors?

Can we really legislate car colors?

2009/03/26

California is talking about banning black or dark color cars as a way to reduce carbon emissions. The reason – it takes more to cool the car off after a few hours in the sun. 

Don’t get me wrong, I’m all for reduced carbon emissions and conservation, etc, but after many years in the desert southwest, I can tell you that it doesn’t matter what color your car is, it will be smoking hot inside if you leave it in the sun. I owned a black car at the time (and was pretty happy with the 34 mpg it got in town) and I don’t recall ever getting into anyone else’s light-colored car and saying “Wow, it’s so much cooler in here than in my car.” Nor do you ever see anyone say that a child or pet died because the car they were left in was black. No, they died because because temps inside a car can reach 140 F very quickly regardless of color.  

I’m just not buying this as a meaningful solution to global warming. Can anyone say green-washing?

Categories: Science Tags: , ,
